Senator John Albers Introduces the Senate School Safety Study Committee

Sen. John Albers (R – Roswell) announced the creation of the Senate School Safety Study Committee earlier this morning. Senate President Pro Tempore Butch Miller (R – Gainesville), Senate Majority Leader Bill Cowsert (R – Athens) and other Senate Members joined Sen. Albers for the announcement.

“Based on current events, we feel that is necessary to place a focus on school safety,” said Sen. Albers. “Each area of our state is unique, and this will not be a ‘one size fits all’ solution. We have to do what is best for each community to ensure that students can learn and thrive in an environment where they not only feel protected but are truly safe.”

SR 935 authorizes the formation of the study committee and outlines its membership and duties. The committee will consist of eight members who will study the conditions, needs, issues and problems related to school safety. Following the completion of the 2018 Legislative Session, the committee will travel across the state meeting with teachers, students, parents, first responders, community leaders and experts to gain insight on ways to best serve and protect each community. Before the 2019 Legislative Session, the study committee will make legislative recommendations to the Senate focused on ensuring school safety.

Sen. Albers, who serves as Chairman of the Public Safety Committee, introduced Senate Resolution 935 on February 26, 2018. This legislation passed out of the Senate Standing Rules Committee on Monday, March 5, 2018, and is now eligible to be placed on the Senate Rules Calendar for a floor vote.