Senate School Safety Study Committee Holds First Meeting

The first meeting of the Senate School Safety Study Committee was held earlier this morning at North Springs High School in Sandy Springs. Senator John Albers, chairman of the committee, and other members heard presentations and testimony from the Georgia Department of Education, Fulton County Schools, students, teachers, parents and local law enforcement representatives.  The committee also announced the launch of the website for the committee: https://www.gasenatek12safety.com/.

“Hearing from each of these different groups is critically important to determine what is working and where there is opportunity for improvement,” said Sen. Albers. “The job of this committee is to listen, compile the information and make actionable recommendations. Holding meetings such as these and with the launch of the website for this committee, we hope that everyone will take the opportunity to provide feedback and have their voices heard. The safety of our children, educators and all citizens is a top priority and I believe that today we made a step in the right direction to open lines of communication between all of these different groups to address school safety statewide.”

“Nothing is more vital than the safety of Georgia’s children, and we must make certain that our local school systems are the safest place for our students,” said Lt. Governor Casey Cagle. “I look forward to working closely with Chairman Albers and the members of this committee to identify solutions that ensure every parent – across Georgia’s 2,292 schools – has peace of mind sending their child to school each day knowing they will be protected and safe.”

The committee encourages all interested parties to visit the link above to provide any feedback for the committee members to review, compile and consider before recommendations are made in preparation for the 2019 Legislative Session. This website will serve as a one-stop-shop for all meeting information including presentations, videos and any other supporting materials.

Senate Resolution 935, sponsored by Sen. Albers, creates the Senate School Safety Study Committee. Sen. Albers will serve as chair of the nine-member study committee. Members of the study committee will travel the state and meet with local leaders, school officials, teachers, students, law enforcement and other stakeholders to determine ways that each community can keep their schools and children safe. The study committee is responsible for submitting a report of findings and recommendations, including proposed legislation, by December 1, 2018.